First leg of Drivers' Championship set for Saturday at the Big M

Dustin Ross, Regional Racing Operations Manager, Tioga Downs
Updated: August 19, 2011 -- 2:30PM ET

Nichols, NY - Four races have been slated to make up the opening leg of the fifth annual Drivers' Championship, to begin on Saturday (August 20) on closing night at Meadowlands Racetrack.

The championship will kick off in race number two featuring Yannick Gingras, David Miller, Ron Pierce, George Brennan, Ed Hensley, Tim Tetrick, Andy Miller, Brian Sears and Jody Jamieson. All nine drivers will compete for points to gain the upper edge on the competition looking towards the second leg which will take place on Sunday (August 28) at Tioga Downs.

The leading driver in points after the Meadowlands leg will take home $10,000 and be in the best spot to land another $25,000 in Nichols, N.Y.

Drivers' Championship betting at Off Track Betting online racebook.

On Saturday night at the Meadowlands, races two, five, eight and ten will be Drivers' Championship races that the nine drivers will compete in to earn points. The point system is as follows: 1st place-10 points, 2nd place-7 points, 3rd place-5 points, 4th place-3 points, and 5th place-1 point.

When the championship heads to Tioga, purses for the races used for the events have been bumped up by 20 percent. Plus, trainer bonus checks will be paid out in races used for the championship, for horses finishing sixth through ninth; each will be paid $100.

Entries for the Drivers' Championship races are due in to the Tioga race office by Thursday (August 25) at 9 a.m. and can be called in to 607.699.7688. Condition sheets can be found online at

Also featured on August 28 at Tioga Downs is the $420,000 (est.) Zweig Memorial for 3-year-old trotters. Last year Temple Of Doom and Lucky Chucky took home the two divisions for male trotters, while Up Front Juansteen and Impressive Kemp took home divisions for filly trotters. Post time for the August 28 race card at Tioga Downs is set for 1:30 p.m.

Horse Betting Deposit Methods

OTB Schedule - Wednesday, Sep 28

Race Tracks Time (EST)
Australia A 11:00 PM
Australia B 11:10 PM
Australia C 11:25 PM
Batavia Downs 6:14 PM
Belmont Park 1:31 PM
Charles Town 6:59 PM
Daytona Beach Eve 7:24 PM
Daytona Beach Mat 1:09 PM
Delaware Park 1:16 PM
Evangeline Downs 6:34 PM
Finger Lakes 1:11 PM
Grand River 6:34 PM
Harrahs Philly (Chester) 12:43 PM
Harrington Raceway 5:00 PM
Iowa Greyhound Park Eve 7:29 PM
Jacksonville Eve 7:44 PM
Jacksonville Mat 12:39 PM
Monmouth at Meadowlands 6:59 PM
Monticello Raceway 12:55 PM
Mountaineer Park 6:59 PM
Northfield Park 5:59 PM
Northlands Park (TB) 8:30 PM
Palm Beach Mat 1:09 PM
Penn National 6:00 PM
Presque Isle 5:25 PM
Remington Park 8:00 PM
Sanford Mat 1:35 PM
Southland Mat 5:00 PM
Thistledown 1:44 PM
Tri-State Eve 7:00 PM
Wheeling Downs Mat 12:31 PM
Woodbine (TB) 6:45 PM

Bet Greyhound Racing

Bet Greyhound Racing
Bet Greyhound Racing online from the top dog tracks in the United States. Watch Free Live Video Streaming of every Greyhound Race when you bet from mobile phone, tablet, laptop or desktop.
  • Earn Daily Cash Rewards - Win or Lose
  • Hundreds of weekly Greyhound races
  • Free Live Video & Race Replays

Horse Betting News