Philip H. Iselin Stakes

The Philip H. Iselin Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race held annually at Monmouth Park Racetrack in Oceanport, New Jersey. Open to horses three years of age and older, the race was first run in 1884. In 1891, New Jersey state legislators began a move to ban parimutuel betting and the race had to be moved to the Jerome Park Racetrack and the Morris Park Racetrack in The Bronx, New York. With a legislated permanent ban, after the 1893 running, the Monmouth Park Racetrack was shut down and the property sold. In 1946, Thoroughbred racing returned to a new Monmouth Park facility, spurred on by the burgeoning American economy after the end of World War II.

From inception until 1966 the race was known as the Monmouth Handicap then from 1967 through 1980 it was run as the Amory L. Haskell Handicap. In 1981 it reverted back to the Monmouth Handicap name then in 1986, it was given its present name to honor Philip H. Iselin, a founding shareholder and director of the Monmounth Park Racetrack who would serve as its President and Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Created in the 19th Century when most Thoroughbred horse races were run at much longer distances than they are today, the early Monmouth Handicaps were raced over a distance of 1-1/2 miles. Upon its revival in 1946 at the new Monmouth Park, the distance was set at 1-1/4 miles. From 1979 through 1995 it was run at 1-1/8 miles and in 1996 and 1997 at 1-1/16 miles when Formal Gold won the 1997 edition in track record time. In 1998, the race reverted to its present 1-1/8 mile format.

Monmouth Park Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Violet Stakes III $150,000
Monmouth Stakes III $250,000
Pegasus Stakes III $200,000
Boiling Springs Stakes III $155,000
Salvator Mile Stakes III $200,000
United Nations Stakes I $765,000
Jersey Shore Stakes III $150,000
Matchmaker Stakes III $200,000
Oceanport Stakes III $200,000
Haskell Invitational Handicap I $1,000,000
Monmouth Oaks III $150,000
Philip H. Iselin Stakes III $250,000
Molly Pitcher Stakes II $250,000
Sapling Stakes III $150,000
Cliff Hanger Stakes III $150,000
Eatontown Stakes III $150,000
Monmouth Cup Stakes II $300,000
Red Bank Stakes III $200,000
Joe Hirsch Turf Classic 2016

OTB Schedule - Friday, Sep 30

Race Tracks Time (EST)
Australia A 10:21 PM
Australia B 10:29 PM
Australia C 10:47 PM
Batavia Downs 6:19 PM
Belmont Park 1:31 PM
Belterra Park 1:30 PM
Charles Town 7:09 PM
Daytona Beach Eve 7:27 PM
Dayton Raceway 6:20 PM
Evangeline Downs 6:36 PM
Freehold Raceway 12:44 PM
Gulfstream Tropical 1:24 PM
Harrahs Philly (Chester) 12:43 PM
Hazel Park 7:31 PM
Iowa Greyhound Park Eve 7:30 PM
Jacksonville Eve 7:49 PM
Laurel Park 1:12 PM
Lone Star Park 7:35 PM
Los Alamitos (QH) 10:03 PM
Mohawk 7:35 PM
Monmouth at Meadowlands 7:00 PM
Northlands Park (TB) 8:31 PM
Northville Downs 7:01 PM
Palm Beach Eve 7:03 PM
Palm Beach Mat 1:09 PM
Penn National 6:01 PM
Plainridge 1:05 PM
Pleasanton 5:16 PM
Prairie Meadows (TB) 6:31 PM
Red Mile 7:08 PM
Remington Park 8:08 PM
Retama Park 7:46 PM
Sanford Eve 7:39 PM
Sanford Mat 1:35 PM
Santa Anita Park 4:02 PM
Saratoga Harness 6:51 PM
Southland Eve 8:31 PM
Southland Mat 2:04 PM
Thistledown 1:43 PM
Tri-State Eve 7:03 PM
Vernon Downs 6:48 PM
Wheeling Downs Eve 6:32 PM
Wheeling Downs Mat 12:32 PM
Will Rogers Downs 1:01 PM
Woodbine (TB) 1:25 PM
Yonkers Raceway 7:13 PM

Bet Greyhound Racing

Bet Greyhound Racing
Bet Greyhound Racing online from the top dog tracks in the United States. Watch Free Live Video Streaming of every Greyhound Race when you bet from mobile phone, tablet, laptop or desktop.
  • Earn Daily Cash Rewards - Win or Lose
  • Hundreds of weekly Greyhound races
  • Free Live Video & Race Replays

Horse Betting News