Grey Stakes

The Grey Stakes is a Canadian Thoroughbred horse race held annually during the first week of October at Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto. A Grade III, it is open to two-year-old horses and is raced on dirt at a distance of 11/16 miles. Since 2006, the dirt racing surface at Woodbine Racetrack has been the synthetic Polytrack.

Inaugurated as the Grey Stakes at the Old Woodbine Racetrack in 1906, it was named in honor of the then Governor General of Canada, Earl Grey. Over the years it has been run at various distances.

J. K. L. Ross, owner of the first United States Triple Crown Champion, Sir Barton, won this race five years in a row with future U.S. Racing Hall of Fame trainer, Henry McDaniel. Henry McDaniel added another win in 1926, making him the leader among all winning trainers. Notable horses who have won the race includes future Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame inductees Horometer (1933), Kennedy Road (1970), Sunny's Halo (1982), and Sky Classic (1989). Dancer's Image won the 1967 race and went on to capture the following year's Kentucky Derby, as did Mine That Bird in 2009. Since the creation of the Breeder's Cup races in 1984, Macho Uno is the only horse to have won the Grey Stakes then gone on to win that year's Breeders' Cup Juvenile.

Famous horses who did not win the Grey Stakes include Display who ran second in 1925 but was the ensuing year's Preakness Stakes winner. As well, the 1997 Belmont Stakes winner Touch Gold finished third in the 1996 running of the Grey Stakes.

Woodbine Racetrack Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Eclipse Stakes III $150,000
Nassau Stakes II $300,000
King Edward Stakes II $250,000
Highlander Stakes II $200,000
Singspiel Stakes III $150,000
Queen's Plate Stakes I $1,000,000
Dominion Day Stakes III $200,000
Dance Smartly Stakes II $300,000
Ontario Matron Stakes III $150,000
Nijinsky Stakes II $300,000
Royal North Stakes III $150,000
Sky Classic Stakes II $250,000
Ontario Colleen Stakes III $150,000
Play the King Stakes II $200,000
Seaway Stakes III $150,000
Natalma Stakes III $200,000
Summer Stakes III $250,000
Canadian Stakes II $300,000
Northern Dancer Turf Stakes I $500,000
Woodbine Mile Stakes I $1,000,000
Selene Stakes III $250,000
Grey Stakes III $200,000
Nearctic Stakes I $500,000
E.P. Taylor Stakes I $1,000,000
Canadian International Stakes I $1,500,000
Autumn Stakes II $150,000
Kennedy Road Stakes III $150,000
Bessarabian Stakes III $150,000
Valedictory Stakes III $150,000
Horse Betting Deposit Methods

OTB Schedule - Wednesday, Sep 28

Race Tracks Time (EST)
Australia A 11:00 PM
Australia B 11:10 PM
Australia C 11:25 PM
Batavia Downs 6:15 PM
Belmont Park 1:30 PM
Charles Town 7:00 PM
Daytona Beach Eve 7:25 PM
Daytona Beach Mat 1:05 PM
Delaware Park 1:15 PM
Evangeline Downs 6:35 PM
Finger Lakes 1:10 PM
Grand River 6:35 PM
Harrahs Philly (Chester) 12:43 PM
Harrington Raceway 5:00 PM
Iowa Greyhound Park Eve 7:30 PM
Jacksonville Eve 7:45 PM
Jacksonville Mat 12:39 PM
Monmouth at Meadowlands 7:00 PM
Monticello Raceway 12:53 PM
Mountaineer Park 7:00 PM
Northfield Park 6:00 PM
Northlands Park (TB) 8:30 PM
Palm Beach Mat 1:05 PM
Penn National 6:00 PM
Presque Isle 5:25 PM
Remington Park 8:07 PM
Sanford Mat 1:30 PM
Southland Mat 5:00 PM
Thistledown 1:40 PM
Tri-State Eve 7:00 PM
Wheeling Downs Mat 12:31 PM
Woodbine (TB) 6:45 PM

Bet Greyhound Racing

Bet Greyhound Racing
Bet Greyhound Racing online from the top dog tracks in the United States. Watch Free Live Video Streaming of every Greyhound Race when you bet from mobile phone, tablet, laptop or desktop.
  • Earn Daily Cash Rewards - Win or Lose
  • Hundreds of weekly Greyhound races
  • Free Live Video & Race Replays

Horse Betting News