Little Brown Jug

Bet the Little Brown Jug

Bet the Little Brown Jug online with - US Legal Online Wagering

Harness Racing's most exciting race, the 74th renewal of the pacing classic "the Little Brown Jug" will take place on Thursday, September 19th in Delaware, Ohio over the most famous half mile track in the world at the Delaware County Fairgrounds.

Racing kicks off on Sunday, September 15th and concludes after five days of the best racing in North America with the Little Brown Jug on Thursday, September 19th.

When is the Little Brown Jug?

The Little Brown Jug is on Thursday, September 19, 2019.

Where is the Little Brown Jug?

The Little Brown Jug is raced at the Delaware County Fairgrounds in Delaware, Ohio.

Where can I watch the Little Brown Jug?

You can watch the Little Brown Jug live on

Where can I bet on the Little Brown Jug?

You can bet on the Little Brown Jug online at! All members have access to Little Brown Jug horse race betting, Little Brown Jug odds, horse racing results, live video, replays and cash back rewards.

Wiggle It Jiggleit to race on Jug Day

Wiggle It Jiggleit, the 2015 Little Brown Jug and 'Horse of the Year," is returning to the harness racing track at the Delaware County Fair in a conditioned event on Jug Day (Thursday, September 19).

The 7-year-old gelded son of Mr Wiggles - Mozzi Hanover has been away from the track for nearly three years with back issues and has competed in four qualifying races at Harrah's Philadelphia preparing for Thursday's race.

Wiggle It Jiggleit has won 38 of 51 career starts and more than $3.9 million for George Teague, Jr. and Teague Racing Partnership. He will leave from post #3 in the $5,250 event.

Trainer Clyde Francis listed Montrell Teague as the driver.

"We cannot thank Team Teague enough for considering the Delaware County Fair for Wiggle It Jiggleit's return," noted Delaware's Director of Racing, Tom Wright. "I am sure the 40,000 plus fans will enjoy seeing the champion back on the track."

Post time on Jug Day will be 11:00 AM.

One of North America's most important and unique Standardbred races is the Little Brown Jug, a race held each year at the Delaware County Fair in Delaware, Ohio.

The Little Brown Jug, a harness race restricted to three-year-old Pacers, is unique in that to win the "Jug," participants must win two races to be crowned champion.

The first series of heats are split into several divisions, and each of the top performers in each return to contest in a second heat. If the same horse does not win both heats, a "race off" is conducted between the two heat winners to determine the winner.

The Little Brown Jug also serves as the second leg of the Triple Crown of Harness Racing for Pacers, preceded by Freehold's Cane Pace and followed by Yonkers' Messenger Stakes.

With so many top-level horses participating, handicappers and horseplayers can be certain that the wagers their making are on the best horses, drivers and conditioners in the area.

Little Brown Jug History

The Little Brown Jug, the premier pacing classic for 3-year-olds, provides a fascinating chapter in the more-than-a-century-old history of harness racing and the standardbred sport.

The Little Brown Jug, enriched by the tradition of the famed Grand Circuit and the picturesque backdrop of the Delaware Ohio County Fairgrounds, steadily maintains the flavor of the sport and competition from the days of its origin.

The founding of the Jug, which actually set its roots more than 65 years ago, is as unique as it is interesting. It began in 1937 when the Delaware County Agricultural Society's members, at their annual meeting, voted to move the County Fair, held since its inception at Powell, to Delaware on a tract of land at the northern edge of the city. Two years later a half-mile track was built and provided the stage for harness racing. R.K. McNamara, a local contractor, designed and built the lightning fast track.

Enter attorney Joe Neville, whose family had been identified with the standardbred horse racing sport for many years, and his friend, Henry C. "Hank" Thomson, sports editor of The Delaware Gazette. Neville, who had campaigned horses on the Grand Circuit and was familiar with its officers and stewards, was successful in obtaining Grand Circuit dates for the new Delaware track. Concerned over the years by the emphasis placed on the trotter, Neville turned his efforts toward showcasing the pacers, particularly the 3-year-olds.

The Little Brown Jug Society was formed to stage the Grand Circuit meeting, and Neville headed the organization with Thomson as secretary-treasurer.

Then came the birth of the Little Brown Jug, named through a newspaper contest, with its previews in 1944 and 1945. The initial Jug in 1946, with a purse of $35,358, was won by Ensign Hanover with Delaware's Wayne "Curly" Smart driving. Smart, a most successful trainer-driver on the Grand Circuit, was later to become an integral part of the Jug's operation as the track superintendent.

Over the years the track monopolized the half-mile record section with world standard performances, mainly through Smart's skill in maintaining the fastest racing strip of its size in the country. Through its humble beginnings, the Little Brown Jug grew slowly to become perhaps the most traditional stake on the pacing gait. In 1956 the Jug provided the anchor for the newly designated Triple Crown of Pacing to go along with The Cane Pace at Yonkers (N.Y.) Raceway and the Messenger Stake then at Roosevelt Raceway in Westbury, N.Y.

Little Brown Jug Showcases Some of the All-Time Greats

A review of Jug winners over the years produces the names of many of the all-time greats in the sport.

The great Tar Heel, driven by Del Cameron, produced the first two-minute mile in 1951. Adios Butler, reined by Clint Hodgins, broke the two-minute barrier with a 1:59.2 clocking in 1959 and went on to become the first triple crown winner.

Bret Hanover, with Frank Ervin in the sulky, added to Jug lore in 1965. After Smart-directed track maintenance crews scraped the racing surface following 24-hour rains, Bret Hanover won in the sensational time of 1:57. Bret's time remained the fastest until 1977 when Governor Skipper, driven by John Chapman, won in 1:56.1. Hot Hitter was the 1979 victor in 1:55.3, Niatross in 1980 in 1:54.4, and Lonestar Legend became the first 1:50 performer in 2008 with his 1:49.3 mile.

This pacing stake has maintained its impeccable reputation through the efforts of the Little Brown Jug Society with the cooperation of its host, the Delaware County Agricultural Society.

The Little Brown Jug is a part of Americana. And it shall ever remain so.

Bet Belmont Stakes 2020

Bet Belmont Stakes 2020

Bet Harness Racing

Bet Harness Racing
Bet Harness Racing online from the top Harness race tracks. Watch Free Live Video Streaming of every harness race when you bet from mobile phone, tablet, laptop or computer.
  • Earn Cash Rewards - Win or Lose
  • Hundreds of weekly Harness races
  • Free Live Video & Race Replays

Horse Betting News