Gazelle Stakes

The Gazelle Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race raced annually at Aqueduct Racetrack in Ozone Park, New York. Open to three-year-old fillies, it is a Grade I event run over a distance of one and one-eighth miles on dirt. The race is sometimes a stepping stone to the Breeders' Cup Distaff.

Inaugurated in 1887, the first New York-bred winner of an Eclipse Award, Saratoga Dew, won this race in 1992. That year she was American Champion Three-Year-Old Filly´┐ŻeZ.

The Gazelle was run at Gravesend Race Track from 1887 to 1916, at Belmont Park from 1969 through 2008, and at Aqueduct Racetrack from 1917 to 1955, in 1960, from 1962 to 1968, and since 2009. It was not run from 1911 to 1916, nor from 1933 to 1935. Originally set at a mile and sixteenth from 1900 to 1958, it was set at one mile in 1959 and 1960. From 1917 through 1920, it was open to fillies three-years-old and up. The Gazelle Stakes was run in two divisions in 1959 and 1960.

Aqueduct Racetrack Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Discovery Handicap III $100,000
Fall Highweight Handicap III $100,000
Go For Wand Handicap II $150,000
Demoiselle Stakes II $200,000
Remsen Stakes II $200,000
Gazelle Stakes I $250,000
Cigar Mile Handicap I $250,000
OTB Race Previews

Bet Horse Racing with OTB

Race Tracks Time (ET)

Watch Live Horse Racing

Watch Live Horse Racing Online For Free
Watch horse racing online from your iPhone, iPad, Android or Tablet. Choose from the best Thoroughbred & Harness race tracks around the world with up-to-the-minute data and live video feeds.