2018 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf

Bet the Breeders' Cup Online

Run at 1 mile on the grass course, the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf, restricted to male 2-year-olds, is often a forecast for the top turf horses of the future.

Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf

Purse:$1,000,000Grade: 1
Distance: 1 MileAge: 2

2018 Juvenile Turf Odds & Entries

Race 8 on Churchill Downs's Friday card with a Post Time of 5:22 PM

Entry Horse ML Odds Jockey Trainer
1 Arthur Kitt (GB) 20-1 Richard Kingscote
122 Lbs
Thomas Dascombe
2 Uncle Benny 15-1 Irad Ortiz, Jr.
122 Lbs
Jason Servis
3 Much Better 10-1 Drayden Van Dyke
122 Lbs
Bob Baffert
4 Forty Under 5-1 Manuel Franco
122 Lbs
Jeremiah Englehart
5 Line of Duty (IRE) 10-1 William Buick
122 Lbs
Charles Appleby
6 Henley's Joy 8-1 Tyler Gaffalione
122 Lbs
Michael Maker
7 Somelikeithotbrown 12-1 Jose Ortiz
122 Lbs
Michael Maker
8 Opry 15-1 Javier Castellano
122 Lbs
Todd Pletcher
9 The Black Album (FR) 30-1 Mickael Barzalona
122 Lbs
Jane Soubagne
10 War of Will 12-1 Joel Rosario
122 Lbs
Mark Casse
11 King of Speed 8-1 Gary Stevens
122 Lbs
Jeff Bonde
12 Current 5-1 John Velazquez
122 Lbs
Todd Pletcher
13 Marie's Diamond (IRE) 20-1 Florent Geroux
122 Lbs
Mark Johnston
14 Anthony Van Dyck (IRE) 4-1 Ryan Moore
122 Lbs
Aidan O'Brien
15 Tracksmith 30-1 Adam Beschizza
122 Lbs
Joe Sharp
16 Order and Law 30-1 Feargal Lynch
122 Lbs
Louis Linder, Jr.

Forty Under & Current looking to impress in 2018 Juvenile Turf

A solid mix of United States and European runners have been pre-entered for this year's version of the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf. In all, 22 horses have pre-entered to run for the $1,000,000 purse. The Grade 1 race will be contested over one mile and has a post time of 5:22 PM ET on Friday, November 2 at Churchill Downs.

Leading the United States charge will be Forty Under. After a poor debut on the dirt, he moved to the turf in his next start, winning by 1 1/2 lengths in a maiden special weight while going two turns. That impressive win earned him a shot in the Grade 3 Pilgrim Stakes, where he sat in mid-pack for most of the race before making a solid move down the lane and coming out victorious by 3/4 of a length. The colt is by Uncle Mo, which doesn't scream turf, but he has plenty of European breeding on his dam's side.

Speaking of Europeans, trainer Aidan O'Brien has pre-entered two in this race. As usual, you can expect him to be tough as he attempts to defend his title. His leading charge this year is Broome, who is coming off of back-to-back close runner-up efforts. He has just one win overall but just nearly missed last time out in the Group 1 Qatar Prix Jean-Luc Lagardere at Longchamp, and this race's one-mile distance seems to suit him.

O'Brien also pre-entered Anthony Van Dyck, who is coming off of a third-place finish last time out in the Group 1 Darely Dewhurst Stakes at Newmarket. The son of Galileo has won three races this year, including the Group 2 Galileo Irish E.B.F. Futurity Stakes at Curragh. As always, adapting to the United States style of racing is the key for the Europeans that ship over. Both of the O'Brien entries boast a resume that makes them tough to beat if they can handle the conditions here.

One horse looking to rebound from a poor performance last time out is Opry. He was a disappointing fourth as the favorite in the Pilgrim after he never quite got going. Two races back in the Grade 3 With Anticipation Stakes, he showed a lot more turn of foot, flying home to win by 1 1/2 lengths. The Todd Pletcher trainee would benefit from a hot pace in this spot, as his style is to drop back and make one run at the end.

The Grade 3 Dixiana Bourbon Stakes winner Current gives Pletcher a solid potential one-two punch. After winning a Belmont Park maiden special weight, he fell well out of the Bourbon early but closed with a furious rally up the middle of the track for the victory.

Somelikeithotbrown ran in both the With Anticipation and the Pilgrim, finishing second each time. After a poor start to his career on the dirt, he has been solid in all three of his turf starts, which includes an 8-length maiden special weight win at Saratoga. In both stakes, he had a chance to win near the wire but was passed late. Both of those races were contested at 1 1/16 miles, though, so he has a better chance to take this field gate-to-wire at 1 mile.

A maiden won last year's Sentient Jet Juvenile, so War of Will's connections must feel better about their maiden's chances at winning here. He finished third on debut in a maiden special weight at Woodbine, then immediately went to the Grade 1 Summer Stakes. After holding the early lead, he was passed in the final stages by Fog of War, but he still finished a close second. Following the race, Fog of War was considered an early favorite for this race, but an injury knocked him out. Most recently, War of Will once again set the pace in the Bourbon before being passed in the last stages, losing this time by 3/4 of a length.


Breeders' Cup Race Grade Purse Date
Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint II $1,000,000 November 1
Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf I $1,000,000 November 1
Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies I $2,000,000 November 1
Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf I $1,000,000 November 1
Breeders' Cup Juvenile I $2,000,000 November 1
Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint I $1,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint I $1,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile I $1,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf I $2,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Sprint I $2,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Mile I $2,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Distaff I $2,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Turf I $4,000,000 November 2
Breeders' Cup Classic I $6,000,000 November 2

About the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf

The Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf is an American Thoroughbred horse race for two-year-old horses, run on a grass course at a distance of one mile. It is part of the Breeders' Cup thoroughbred championships, the de facto year-end championship for North American thoroughbred racing. All Breeders' Cups to date have been conducted in the United States, with the exception of the 1996 event in Canada.

The Juvenile Turf was run for the first time in 2007 during the first day of the expanded Breeders' Cup at host track, Monmouth Park Racetrack in Oceanport, New Jersey. The race received Grade II status in 2009.[1] The American Graded Stakes Committee further upgraded the race to Grade I status for 2011

Run at 1 mile on the grass course, the Juvenile Turf, restricted to male 2-year-olds, is often a forecast for the top turf horses of the future.

Breeders Cup' Juvenile Turf Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Line of Duty William Buick Charles Appleby 1:40.06
2017 Mendelssohn Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien 1:35.97
2016 Oscar Performance Jose L. Ortiz Brian A. Lynch 1:33.28
2015 Hit It A Bomb Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien 1:38.86
2014 Hootenanny Frankie Dettori Wesley A. Ward 1:34.79
2013 Outstrip (GB) Mike Smith Charlie Appleby 1:33.20
2012 George Vancouver Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien 1:33.78
2011 Wrote Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien 1:37.41
2010 Pluck Garrett K. Gomez Todd Pletcher 1:36.98
2009 Pounced Frankie Dettori John Gosden 1:35.47
2008 Donativum Frankie Dettori John Gosden 1:34.68
2007 Nownownow Julien Leparoux Francois Parisel 1:40.48
OTB Cash Rewards

OTB Cash Rewards

Make your Greyhound Racing & Horse Racing wagers count even more! Earn daily OTB Cash Rewards at many Thoroughbred, Harness and Greyhound racetracks.
  • Easy to understand rate schedule
  • No confusing point conversion programs
  • Use to wager or withdraw as cash

Watch Live Horse Racing

Watch Live Horse Racing Online For Free
Watch horse racing online from your iPhone, iPad, Android or Tablet. Choose from the best Thoroughbred & Harness race tracks around the world with up-to-the-minute data and live video feeds.

Horse Betting News