Gulfstream Park Sprint Championship

The Gulfstream Park Sprint Championship Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race held annually during the second week of February at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Florida. A Grade II event, it is open to horses, age four and up, willing to race seven furlongs on the dirt.

Inaugurated as the Gulfstream Park Sprint Championship, from 2003-2009 the race was run as the Richter Scale Sprint Handicap in honor the Grade I winner, Richter Scale. It was raced at six furlongs in 1987 and again in 1990. There was no race run in 1973, 1975, 1976, 1978-1980, and 1982.

Gulfstream Park Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Sugar Swirl Stakes III $100,000
Mr. Prospector Handicap III $100,000
Old Hat Stakes III $100,000
Marshua's River Stakes III $100,000
Fort Lauderdale Stakes III $100,000
Hal's Hope Handicap III $100,000
Forward Gal Stakes II $200,000
Holy Bull Stakes III $400,000
Donn Handicap I $500,000
Gulfstream Park Turf Handicap I $300,000
Hutcheson Stakes II $150,000
Suwannee River Stakes III $150,000
Gulfstream Park Sprint Championship II $150,000
Hurricane Bertie Stakes III $150,000
Davona Dale Stakes II $250,000
Sabin Stakes III $100,000
Very One Stakes III $100,000
Fountain of Youth Stakes II $400,000
Mac Diarmida Stakes II $150,000
Canadian Turf Stakes III $150,000
Gulfstream Park Handicap II $300,000
Swale Stakes III $150,000
Herecomesthebride Stakes III $150,000
Palm Beach Stakes III $150,000
Inside Information Stakes II $150,000
Honey Fox Stakes II $100,000
Pan American Stakes II $150,000
Orchid Stakes III $150,000
Florida Derby I $1,000,000
Gulfstream Park Oaks II $300,000
Appleton Stakes III $100,000
Rampart Stakes III $150,000
Skip Away Stakes III $100,000