Mac Diarmida Stakes

The Mac Diarmida Handicap is an American Thoroughbred horse race held annually at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Florida. A Grade II event since 2007, it is open to horses age four and older and is contested on turf over a distance of one-and-three-eighth miles (11 furlongs). Typically raced at the end of January, in 2009 it was run during the third week of February.

Inaugurated in 1995, for the first two years at a distance of one-and-one-sixteenth miles. In 1997, wet weather forced the race to be moved from the turf course to the main dirt track and set at a distance of one-and-one-quarter miles. In 1998 the race was set at its presnt distance of one-and-three-eighths miles. For 2001, the race was not run.

Gulfstream Park Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Sugar Swirl Stakes III $100,000
Mr. Prospector Handicap III $100,000
Old Hat Stakes III $100,000
Marshua's River Stakes III $100,000
Fort Lauderdale Stakes III $100,000
Hal's Hope Handicap III $100,000
Forward Gal Stakes II $200,000
Holy Bull Stakes III $400,000
Donn Handicap I $500,000
Gulfstream Park Turf Handicap I $300,000
Hutcheson Stakes II $150,000
Suwannee River Stakes III $150,000
Gulfstream Park Sprint Championship II $150,000
Hurricane Bertie Stakes III $150,000
Davona Dale Stakes II $250,000
Sabin Stakes III $100,000
Very One Stakes III $100,000
Fountain of Youth Stakes II $400,000
Mac Diarmida Stakes II $150,000
Canadian Turf Stakes III $150,000
Gulfstream Park Handicap II $300,000
Swale Stakes III $150,000
Herecomesthebride Stakes III $150,000
Palm Beach Stakes III $150,000
Inside Information Stakes II $150,000
Honey Fox Stakes II $100,000
Pan American Stakes II $150,000
Orchid Stakes III $150,000
Florida Derby I $1,000,000
Gulfstream Park Oaks II $300,000
Appleton Stakes III $100,000
Rampart Stakes III $150,000
Skip Away Stakes III $100,000