Fayette Stakes

The Fayette Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race run annually in late October at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Kentucky. A Grade III event, it is open to horses age three and older. It is contested on Polytrack synthetic dirt and offers a purse of $150,000.

The Fayette Stakes is named for Fayette County, Kentucky, of which the city of Lexington is the county seat. First elevated to a Grade III event in 1979, it was a Grade II event from 1987 through 1996. For 2009, the race has been returned to its Grade II status. The race was contested on turf in 1985 and was run in two divisions in 1976 and 1982. In 1983 there was a dead heat for first.

Keeneland Race Course Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Transylvania Stakes III $100,000
Ashland Stakes I $400,000
Madison Stakes I $300,000
Maker's Mark Mile Stakes I $300,000
Shakertown Stakes III $100,000
Jenny Wiley Stakes II $200,000
Commonwealth Stakes II $175,000
Blue Grass Stakes I $750,000
Beaumont Stakes II $150,000
Appalachian Stakes III $100,000
Doubledogdare Stakes III $100,000
Ben Ali Stakes III $150,000
Lexington Stakes III $200,000
Bewitch Stakes III $150,000
Elkhorn Stakes II $150,000
Phoenix Stakes III $175,000
Darley Alcibiades Stakes I $400,000
Woodford Stakes III $100,000
Thoroughbred Club of America Stakes II $200,000
First Lady Stakes I $350,000
Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes I $600,000
Dixiana Breeders' Futurity Stakes I $400,000
Bourbon Stakes III $100,000
Juddmonte Spinster Stakes I $500,000
Jessamine Stakes III $150,000
Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup Stakes I $400,000
Sycamore Stakes III $100,000
Valley View Stakes III $150,000
Raven Run Stakes II $250,000
Fayette Stakes II $150,000

Horse Betting News