Lady's Secret Stakes

The Lady's Secret Stakes (formerly the Zenyatta Stakes and Lady's Secret Breeders' Cup Handicap) is an American Thoroughbred horse race run annually near the end of September during the Oak Tree Racing Association meet at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California. The race was run at Hollywood Park in 2010 due to impending work at Santa Anita Park. There is also an east coast version run at Monmouth Park.

A Grade I event since 2007, it is open to fillies and mares, age three and older, willing to race one and one-sixteenth miles. In November 2010, the race was renamed after the 2009 Breeders' Cup Classic winner and 2010 American Horse of the Year Zenyatta, who won the race in 2008, 2009 and 2010. The race was previously named after the great Hall of Famer Lady's Secret. In the top 100 U.S. thoroughbred champions of the 20th Century, Lady's Secret is ranked #76. Although the name of the race was changed to the Zenyatta Stakes, that change was held off for 2010 at the behest of the connections of Zenyatta. For 2010, it was again run as the Lady's Secret Stakes because Zenyatta was in the field. The Mosses and Zenyatta's trainer, John Shirreffs, requested that the race be changed back to its original name for this running. The race name change was done on the assumption that Zenyatta would retire at the end of 2009. The Hollywood Park officials did not anticipate that she might again race in the Lady's Secret in 2010.

Santa Anita Park Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Sir Beaufort Stakes II $150,000
Malibu Stakes I $300,000
La Brea Stakes I $300,000
Robert J. Frankel Stakes II $150,000
Monrovia Handicap III $100,000
San Pasqual Stakes II $150,000
Sham Stakes III $100,000
Daytona Stakes III $100,000
San Fernando Stakes II $150,000
Santa Ynez Stakes II $150,000
San Gabriel Stakes II $150,000
Palos Verdes Stakes II $150,000
La Cañada Stakes II $150,000
Santa Monica Stakes I $300,000
Santa Ysabel Stakes III $100,000
Robert B. Lewis Stakes II $200,000
Strub Stakes II $200,000
Arcadia Stakes II $150,000
San Antonio Stakes II $200,000
San Marcos Stakes II $150,000
Santa Maria Stakes II $200,000
San Vicente Stakes II $150,000
Buena Vista Handicap II $150,000
San Carlos Handicap II $200,000
Las Virgenes Stakes I $250,000
Frank E. Kilroe Mile I $300,000
Santa Anita Handicap I $750,000
San Felipe Stakes II $300,000
Las Flores Stakes III $100,000
Santa Margarita Stakes I $300,000
San Luis Rey Stakes II $150,000
Tokyo City Cup III $100,000
Santa Ana Stakes II $150,000
Santa Anita Oaks I $300,000
Santa Anita Derby I $750,000
Potrero Grande Stakes II $150,000
Providencia Stakes III $150,000
Las Cienegas Handicap III $100,000
Santa Barbara Handicap II $150,000
San Simeon Handicap III $100,000
San Juan Capistrano Handicap II $150,000
Sen. Ken Maddy Stakes III $100,000
Yellow Ribbon Stakes I $250,000
Lady's Secret Stakes I $250,000
Goodwood Stakes I $250,000
Norfolk Stakes I $250,000
Oak Leaf Stakes I $250,000
Clement L. Hirsch Turf Championship II $150,000
Oak Tree Mile II $150,000
Ancient Title Stakes I $250,000
Morvich Handicap III $100,000
Oak Tree Derby II $150,000
Harold C. Ramser Sr. Stakes III $100,000
Las Palmas Stakes II $150,000

Horse Betting News