Santa Anita Handicap

The Santa Anita Handicap is an American Thoroughbred horse race held annually, typically run in early March, at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California. It is a Grade I race for horses four years old and up, and is considered the most important race for older horses in North America during the winter racing season. The ten furlong Santa Anita Handicap offers a purse of $750,000.

The first race was held in 1935, just months after the track opened in late 1934, and was for three-year-olds and up until 1969. The Santa Anita Handicap instantly became one of the nation's top races because it offered a minimum purse of $100,000, then a staggering amount for a horse race. In its early years, the race was most commonly referred to among horsemen and racing media as the "Hundred-Grander." Another nickname for the race dating back to that time, "The Big 'Cap," is still in regular use.

Probably the dominant figure in the early years of the race was the legendary Seabiscuit, as the race proved to be a metaphor for his career. In his first two attempts to win it in 1937 and 1938, he lost in photo finishes, with the second loss to a horse carrying 30 pounds less than he was. He suffered what was believed to be a career-ending injury while preparing for the 1939 edition. Amazingly, he came back to run in the Hundred-Grander in 1940, finally winning in what would be his last race.

Santa Anita Park Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Sir Beaufort Stakes II $150,000
Malibu Stakes I $300,000
La Brea Stakes I $300,000
Robert J. Frankel Stakes II $150,000
Monrovia Handicap III $100,000
San Pasqual Stakes II $150,000
Sham Stakes III $100,000
Daytona Stakes III $100,000
San Fernando Stakes II $150,000
Santa Ynez Stakes II $150,000
San Gabriel Stakes II $150,000
Palos Verdes Stakes II $150,000
La Cañada Stakes II $150,000
Santa Monica Stakes I $300,000
Santa Ysabel Stakes III $100,000
Robert B. Lewis Stakes II $200,000
Strub Stakes II $200,000
Arcadia Stakes II $150,000
San Antonio Stakes II $200,000
San Marcos Stakes II $150,000
Santa Maria Stakes II $200,000
San Vicente Stakes II $150,000
Buena Vista Handicap II $150,000
San Carlos Handicap II $200,000
Las Virgenes Stakes I $250,000
Frank E. Kilroe Mile I $300,000
Santa Anita Handicap I $750,000
San Felipe Stakes II $300,000
Las Flores Stakes III $100,000
Santa Margarita Stakes I $300,000
San Luis Rey Stakes II $150,000
Tokyo City Cup III $100,000
Santa Ana Stakes II $150,000
Santa Anita Oaks I $300,000
Santa Anita Derby I $750,000
Potrero Grande Stakes II $150,000
Providencia Stakes III $150,000
Las Cienegas Handicap III $100,000
Santa Barbara Handicap II $150,000
San Simeon Handicap III $100,000
San Juan Capistrano Handicap II $150,000
Sen. Ken Maddy Stakes III $100,000
Yellow Ribbon Stakes I $250,000
Lady's Secret Stakes I $250,000
Goodwood Stakes I $250,000
Norfolk Stakes I $250,000
Oak Leaf Stakes I $250,000
Clement L. Hirsch Turf Championship II $150,000
Oak Tree Mile II $150,000
Ancient Title Stakes I $250,000
Morvich Handicap III $100,000
Oak Tree Derby II $150,000
Harold C. Ramser Sr. Stakes III $100,000
Las Palmas Stakes II $150,000
OTB Race Previews

Bet Horse Racing with OTB

Race Tracks Time (ET)

Watch Live Horse Racing

Watch Live Horse Racing Online For Free
Watch horse racing online from your iPhone, iPad, Android or Tablet. Choose from the best Thoroughbred & Harness race tracks around the world with up-to-the-minute data and live video feeds.