San Vicente Stakes

The San Vicente Stakes is an American thoroughbred horse race run annually at Santa Anita Park. A Grade III event, the race is open to three-year-old horses willing to race seven furlongs on the dirt and carries a purse of $150,000.

Inaugurated in 1935 as the San Vicente Handicap, it was open to older horses until 1937. The race was run as a handicap event from 1935 until 1941, 1945 through 1948, 1956 through 1958, and 1960 through 1965. There was no race held from 1942 until 1944, 1949 until 1951, and again in 1970. In 1952 and 1953 the race was restricted to colts and geldings. Since inception, it has been run at various distances.

Louis B. Mayer's U.S. Racing Hall of Fame filly, Busher, won this race against males in 1945. The filly, Hubble Bubble, won in 1947. In 2009 Evita Argentina became the third filly to win this race in 68 runnings.

Santa Anita Park Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Sir Beaufort Stakes II $150,000
Malibu Stakes I $300,000
La Brea Stakes I $300,000
Robert J. Frankel Stakes II $150,000
Monrovia Handicap III $100,000
San Pasqual Stakes II $150,000
Sham Stakes III $100,000
Daytona Stakes III $100,000
San Fernando Stakes II $150,000
Santa Ynez Stakes II $150,000
San Gabriel Stakes II $150,000
Palos Verdes Stakes II $150,000
La Cañada Stakes II $150,000
Santa Monica Stakes I $300,000
Santa Ysabel Stakes III $100,000
Robert B. Lewis Stakes II $200,000
Strub Stakes II $200,000
Arcadia Stakes II $150,000
San Antonio Stakes II $200,000
San Marcos Stakes II $150,000
Santa Maria Stakes II $200,000
San Vicente Stakes II $150,000
Buena Vista Handicap II $150,000
San Carlos Handicap II $200,000
Las Virgenes Stakes I $250,000
Frank E. Kilroe Mile I $300,000
Santa Anita Handicap I $750,000
San Felipe Stakes II $300,000
Las Flores Stakes III $100,000
Santa Margarita Stakes I $300,000
San Luis Rey Stakes II $150,000
Tokyo City Cup III $100,000
Santa Ana Stakes II $150,000
Santa Anita Oaks I $300,000
Santa Anita Derby I $750,000
Potrero Grande Stakes II $150,000
Providencia Stakes III $150,000
Las Cienegas Handicap III $100,000
Santa Barbara Handicap II $150,000
San Simeon Handicap III $100,000
San Juan Capistrano Handicap II $150,000
Sen. Ken Maddy Stakes III $100,000
Yellow Ribbon Stakes I $250,000
Lady's Secret Stakes I $250,000
Goodwood Stakes I $250,000
Norfolk Stakes I $250,000
Oak Leaf Stakes I $250,000
Clement L. Hirsch Turf Championship II $150,000
Oak Tree Mile II $150,000
Ancient Title Stakes I $250,000
Morvich Handicap III $100,000
Oak Tree Derby II $150,000
Harold C. Ramser Sr. Stakes III $100,000
Las Palmas Stakes II $150,000