Sanford Stakes

The Sanford Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race held annually during the third week of July at the Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, New York. A six furlong sprint race, the Grade II event is open to two-year-old horses.

Inaugurated in 1913 as the Sanford Memorial Stakes, it was modified to its present name in 1927. The race is named for Stephen Sanford and his son John, Amsterdam, New York businessmen from one of Saratoga's original horse racing families. Their horses first appeared in the Saratoga races in 1880. Stephen Sanford named all his best horses after members of the Mohawk nation.

The race was hosted by Belmont Park from 1943 through 1945. It was contested at five and a half furlongs from 1962 through 1968. Held for almost a hundred years, the only two years in which it did not take place was 1961 and 2005. Only four horses have ever won all three Saratoga Racecourse events for two-year-olds. Regret (1914), Campfire (1916), Dehere (1993), and City Zip (2000) each swept the Sanford Stakes, Saratoga Special Stakes, and Hopeful Stakes.

It was in the seventh running of the Sanford in 1919 that the great Man o' War lost his only race to a horse called Upset.

Saratoga Race Course Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Schuylerville Stakes III $100,000
Coaching Club American Oaks I $250,000
Sanford Stakes II $150,000
Lake George Stakes II $150,000
Jim Dandy Stakes II $500,000
Diana Stakes I $500,000
Fourstardave Handicap II $150,000
Ruffian Handicap I $250,000
Amsterdam Stakes II $150,000
Test Stakes I $250,000
Whitney Handicap I $750,000
Honorable Miss Handicap II $150,000
Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap I $250,000
National Museum of Racing HOF Stakes II $150,000
Sword Dancer Invitational Handicap I $500,000
Adirondack Stakes II $150,000
Saratoga Special Stakes II $150,000
Alabama Stakes I $500,000
Lake Placid Stakes II $150,000
Bernard Baruch Handicap II $200,000
Victory Ride Stakes III $100,000
Ballston Spa Handicap II $200,000
Ballerina Stakes I $250,000
King's Bishop Stakes I $250,000
Travers Stakes I $1,000,000
Personal Ensign Stakes I $300,000
With Anticipation Stakes II $150,000
Forego Handicap I $250,000
Woodward Stakes I $750,000
Saranac Stakes III $100,000
Spinaway Stakes I $250,000
Glens Falls Handicap III $100,000
Hopeful Stakes I $250,000