Saranac Stakes

The Saranac Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race run annually at Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, New York. The Grage III stakes is open to Three-year-old horses and is raced on turf over a distance of 1³/16 miles. The event, currently run in early September, offers a purse of $100,000.

Inaugurated in 1901, the race is named for the village of Saranac in Clinton County, New York in the Adirondack Mountains. Due to a legislated ban on parimutuel betting, all New York State racetracks ceased operations in 1911 and 1912. Cancellation of the race occurred again from 1943 to 1947 as a result of World War II. When it returned in 1948, the race was shifted to the now defunct Jamaica Racetrack until 1956 when it was moved to Aqueduct Racetrack where it was held from 1957-1961, 1963-1967, 1972-1974, and in 1976.

Saratoga Race Course Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Schuylerville Stakes III $100,000
Coaching Club American Oaks I $250,000
Sanford Stakes II $150,000
Lake George Stakes II $150,000
Jim Dandy Stakes II $500,000
Diana Stakes I $500,000
Fourstardave Handicap II $150,000
Ruffian Handicap I $250,000
Amsterdam Stakes II $150,000
Test Stakes I $250,000
Whitney Handicap I $750,000
Honorable Miss Handicap II $150,000
Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap I $250,000
National Museum of Racing HOF Stakes II $150,000
Sword Dancer Invitational Handicap I $500,000
Adirondack Stakes II $150,000
Saratoga Special Stakes II $150,000
Alabama Stakes I $500,000
Lake Placid Stakes II $150,000
Bernard Baruch Handicap II $200,000
Victory Ride Stakes III $100,000
Ballston Spa Handicap II $200,000
Ballerina Stakes I $250,000
King's Bishop Stakes I $250,000
Travers Stakes I $1,000,000
Personal Ensign Stakes I $300,000
With Anticipation Stakes II $150,000
Forego Handicap I $250,000
Woodward Stakes I $750,000
Saranac Stakes III $100,000
Spinaway Stakes I $250,000
Glens Falls Handicap III $100,000
Hopeful Stakes I $250,000