Saratoga Special Stakes

The Saratoga Special Stakes is an American Grade II Thoroughbred horse race run annually in mid August at Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, New York. The race is for two-year-olds willing to race six and a half furlongs on the dirt.

First run in 1901, the Saratoga Special was a winner-take-all race until 1959 when it became a standard stakes race. The race was held at Belmont Park on the Widener Course in 1943, 1944, and 1945. Thee was no race in 1911 and 1912 due to the New York State legislated ban on parimutuel betting that led to the closure of all New York racetracks. There was also no race held in 2004.

Since inception it has been contested at various distances - 5.5 furlongs from 1901-1906, 6 furlongs from 1907-1993, 2005, and 6-1/2 furlongs from 1994 to present. Only four horses have ever won all three Saratoga Racecourse events for two-year-olds. Regret (1914), Campfire (1916), Dehere (1993), and City Zip (2000) each swept the Saratoga Special, Sanford Stakes and Hopeful Stakes.

Saratoga Race Course Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Schuylerville Stakes III $100,000
Coaching Club American Oaks I $250,000
Sanford Stakes II $150,000
Lake George Stakes II $150,000
Jim Dandy Stakes II $500,000
Diana Stakes I $500,000
Fourstardave Handicap II $150,000
Ruffian Handicap I $250,000
Amsterdam Stakes II $150,000
Test Stakes I $250,000
Whitney Handicap I $750,000
Honorable Miss Handicap II $150,000
Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap I $250,000
National Museum of Racing HOF Stakes II $150,000
Sword Dancer Invitational Handicap I $500,000
Adirondack Stakes II $150,000
Saratoga Special Stakes II $150,000
Alabama Stakes I $500,000
Lake Placid Stakes II $150,000
Bernard Baruch Handicap II $200,000
Victory Ride Stakes III $100,000
Ballston Spa Handicap II $200,000
Ballerina Stakes I $250,000
King's Bishop Stakes I $250,000
Travers Stakes I $1,000,000
Personal Ensign Stakes I $300,000
With Anticipation Stakes II $150,000
Forego Handicap I $250,000
Woodward Stakes I $750,000
Saranac Stakes III $100,000
Spinaway Stakes I $250,000
Glens Falls Handicap III $100,000
Hopeful Stakes I $250,000