Whitney Handicap

The Whitney Handicap (often referred to as the "Whitney Stakes") is an American Grade 1 handicap race for Thoroughbred racehorses three years of age and older run at a distance of 1-1/8 miles. In 2007, the Breeders' Cup Ltd. introduced the "Win and You're In" qualification format that means the winner of the Whitney Handicap will automatically qualify for the fall running of the Breeders' Cup Classic.

Held annually in late July/early August at the Saratoga Race Course near Saratoga Springs, New York, the race is named for the Whitney family, whose members have and remain prominent participants and supporters of the sport of Thoroughbred horse racing. Raced at a distance of 1-1/4 miles from inception in 1928 until 1940, it was closed to geldings. The inaugural running was won by William R. Coe's two-time Champion Filly, Black Maria. During World War II, the race was run at Belmont Park from 1943 through 1945, and again once in 1961. Between 1957 and 1969 the race was restricted to horses four years and older.

Some of the greatest horses in American racing history have won the Whitney Handicap including the Kelso who won it for the third time in 1965 at the age of eight. The race also saw one of the most dramatic upsets in racing history when the legendary Secretariat finished second in the 1973 Whitney to Allen Jerkens' colt, Onion. Six fillies have won the race: Black Maria (1928), Bateau (1929), Esposa (1937), Gallorette (1948), Lady's Secret (1986), and Personal Ensign (1988).

Saratoga Race Course Graded Stakes Races

Stakes Race Grade Purse
Schuylerville Stakes III $100,000
Coaching Club American Oaks I $250,000
Sanford Stakes II $150,000
Lake George Stakes II $150,000
Jim Dandy Stakes II $500,000
Diana Stakes I $500,000
Fourstardave Handicap II $150,000
Ruffian Handicap I $250,000
Amsterdam Stakes II $150,000
Test Stakes I $250,000
Whitney Handicap I $750,000
Honorable Miss Handicap II $150,000
Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap I $250,000
National Museum of Racing HOF Stakes II $150,000
Sword Dancer Invitational Handicap I $500,000
Adirondack Stakes II $150,000
Saratoga Special Stakes II $150,000
Alabama Stakes I $500,000
Lake Placid Stakes II $150,000
Bernard Baruch Handicap II $200,000
Victory Ride Stakes III $100,000
Ballston Spa Handicap II $200,000
Ballerina Stakes I $250,000
King's Bishop Stakes I $250,000
Travers Stakes I $1,000,000
Personal Ensign Stakes I $300,000
With Anticipation Stakes II $150,000
Forego Handicap I $250,000
Woodward Stakes I $750,000
Saranac Stakes III $100,000
Spinaway Stakes I $250,000
Glens Falls Handicap III $100,000
Hopeful Stakes I $250,000